Book Review: The Bane Chronicles

I have to admit, this was an extremely disappointing series.  I loved Cassandra Clare’s Infernal Devices, and this is no where near the same quality.  To write a book, an author should be willing to spend a lot of time and effort on writing.  Clearly, Clare did not spend a lot of time writing her newest selections.  The first one, What Really Happened in Peru, started out well, with an interesting story about the mysterious Magnus Bane, considered to be very interesting by many readers. But, to use the title, What Really Happened in Peru, Clare should tell us one main thing in the story: what really happened in Peru.  To me, she clearly did not do this.  In the end she basically told the readers that Magnus had done a bunch of things, but who knew what he really did in Peru?  This book really isn’t worth reading.  The second book, The Runaway Queen was another story with a disappointing ending.  Magnus Bane, displayed throughout the Shadowhunter books as a hero with a soul, an unusual warlock, ditches his friends and flees to an isolated spot to sit by himself in peace.  Very different from the way he was portrayed earlier.  Another book not worth reading.  The third book, Vampires, Scones, and Edmund Herondale, describes the Shadowhunters in a new way that i can’t say is completely terrible.  Rather than showing the Shadowhunters perspective in yet another story, we see how the Downworlders were one treated by the Shadowhunters: with prejudice and injustice.  It is a sad take, but the first in the series that actually has a satisfactory ending.  This book is worth reading, particularly if you are interested in a different take on the Shadowhunters.  The fourth book, The Midnight Heir, may have been the worst book yet.  There was no satisfactory end to the book!  Once again, Magnus Bane gave up on his friends and left all because he was frightened, though he may have been the only one who could do anything to help the other characters.  How disappointing.  Not worth reading.  At all.  The Rise of the Hotel Dumort was definitely the best book yet.  It had an engaging plot, good characters, suspense, and a satisfying ending.  This book made me definitely want to look into the next one: the sixth book, Saving Raphael Santiago.  I also enjoyed this one, and actually think it was even better than the others, even the fifth one.  Very enjoyable and well-written.  It brings out Raphael’s human side, and in addition, developed a slightly more excited view on the next Mortal Instruments book, City of Heavenly Fire, even though I am not a fan of the Mortal Instruments, either.  I hope that Clare brings back Raphael Santiago.  As seen from the book Saving Raphael Santiago, he is a character worth reading about.  The seventh book, and the last one that I have read, The Fall of the Hotel Dumort, was another well-written book.  Clearly, Clare took someone’s advice and actually finished the book.  There is one flaw at the end that does not actually seem to fit with the rest of the stories, but other than that, it is a book worth reading.  Overall, Clare started out very poorly, with unfinished ending that almost made it seem like she barely spent any time on the books, but redeemed herself slightly with the last few books.  It is still nowhere near the same quality as the Infernal Devices, but hopefully, her newest one, What to buy the Shadowhunter Who Has Everything (And Who You’re Not Officially Dating Anyway) will be a good one.

Review: 6/10

If you liked it you should read- Infernal Devices, Mortal Instruments


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s